Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B What are operators?

1. Jul 8, 2017 #1
    I'm a beginner in QFT, starting out with D. J. Griffiths' book in this topic.

I have a question on the operators used in QM. What are operators? What is the physical significance of operators? I can understand that ##\frac {d}{dt}## to be an operator, but how can there be a total energy operator, a potential energy operator, and what is the meaning of subtracting them to give a Hamiltonian? (##\hat H = \hat T - \hat V##)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 8, 2017 #2
    The Hamiltonian is the sum of potential and kinetic energy ##\hat{H}=\hat{T}+\hat{V}## not the difference. The Hamiltonian operator can be said to act as the total energy operator. This means that the eigenvalues of the Hamiltonian are the total energies ##E_{n}## corresponding to a given eigenstate ##\phi(\mathbf{x})_{n}## as
    $$\hat{H}\phi(\mathbf{x})_{n}=E_{n}\phi(\mathbf{x})_{n}$$.

4. Jul 8, 2017 #3
    What are eigenvalues and eigenstate?

5. Jul 8, 2017 #4
    Are you familiar with linear algebra? A Vector ##\mathbf{x}## which has the property that when multiplied by a matrix ##\mathbf{A}## as
    $$\mathbf{A}\mathbf{x}=\alpha\mathbf{x}$$
    produces the same vector ##\mathbf{x}## multiplied by a scalar ##\alpha## is called an eigenvector. The scalar ##\alpha## is called an eigenvalue. This is analogous to the time independent Schrödinger equation
    $$\hat{H}\phi(\mathbf{x})_{n}=E_{n}\phi(\mathbf{x})_{n}$$
    where ##E_{n}## is an eigenvalue and ##\phi(\mathbf{x})_{n}## is an eigenstate or eigenfunction.

6. Jul 8, 2017 #5
    Understood about eigenvalues. But what does an operator physically signify? What is the physical significance of energy operators?

Last edited: Jul 8, 2017
  7. Jul 8, 2017 #6

vanhees71

Science Advisor
    2016 Award