Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What did you do while PF was down?

1. Nov 20, 2006 #1

turbo

Gold Member

I changed the spark plugs in my little Nissan 4x4 and then went deer hunting, hoping to blow bloody holes in some of the prettiest (and tastiest!) creatures in the forest.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 20, 2006 #2
    I worked. :(

4. Nov 20, 2006 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Me too. I'm afraid that my work productivity soared today.

5. Nov 20, 2006 #4
    I studied for the most boring biology course ever...ughhh.

6. Nov 20, 2006 #5

Danger

Gold Member

I was at work, but since that's to be avoided at all costs I did my on-line jigsaw puzzles instead.

7. Nov 20, 2006 #6

Astronuc

Worked - actually, I wasn't aware that PF was offline until this afternoon.

8. Nov 20, 2006 #7
    :rofl: Yeap.

9. Nov 20, 2006 #8

JamesU

Gold Member

I didn't even know it was down :confused:

BTW can anyone else not see the "view post" picture in every quote now

10. Nov 20, 2006 #9

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I got my grant proposal submitted (didn't actually go to sleep last night trying to get it completed), propped my eyes open long enough to sit through a lunch meeting, and then came home and SLEPT!!!!

11. Nov 20, 2006 #10

turbo

Gold Member

Yay! Good luck, Moonie!

12. Nov 20, 2006 #11

Alkatran

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I proved the average running time of quick sort is n*lg(n) by starting from a recursive definition.

all the way from

[tex]
    f(0) = 0
    [/tex]
    [tex]
    f(n) = n + \sum_{a=1}^n \frac{f(a-1) + f(n-a) + 1}{n}
    [/tex]

to

[tex]
    f(0) = 0
    [/tex]
    [tex]
    f(n) = 2(n+1)(H_{n+1} - 1)
    [/tex]

a surprisingly long way (still just a page, I suppose)

13. Nov 20, 2006 #12

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member