1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What do I learn in a PhD in Physics (UK)?

1. Jan 12, 2016 #1
    Hello
    I am currently looking for PhD's in physics just now but more specifically a project which uses my favourite topic of quantum theory. Up until now i have only thought about picking projects based on this preference but i would like to know what you learn on the PhD.

So for example if i picked a project on based on imaging using quantum techniques would I only learn about quantum optics theory for 3-4 years and thats it? Because my interest expands to quantum optics, information, mechanics etc. I would like to learn about other topics in quantum as well. Does that also mean if i got a PhD in this area and i wanted to be an academic i could only do research in quantum optics? Because it seems very confined.

I would like to learn about other topics in quantum as well in more detail.

Can anyone with more experience elaborate on what the PhD process involves in terms of the learning aspects?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2016 #2
    You need to look at the specific requirements of your school in more detail. Most PhD programs in the US require significant coursework and grad level accomplishment in quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, classical mechanics, and electrodynamics in addition to a couple courses in areas different from the candidate's specialty, and then the in depth research and thesis in the area of specialty.

4. Jan 13, 2016 #3
    In the UK a PhD is solely research as far as I know. There aren't any taught classes.

5. Jan 14, 2016 #4
    Interesting. Are there qualifying exams that cover physics more broadly to encourage students to self-study?

6. Jan 14, 2016 #5