Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What do I need to put myself in shape for the Putnam competition?

1. May 31, 2007 #1
    I'm not sure I even have enough time to prepare (a summer is very short). But still, I want to give myself a shot so I'm asking; what do I need to do good on the Putnam contest? Now I know this may sound like asking a question like "what do I need to one day walk on Mars?". So my real question, would be whether is it possible for me to prepare conveniently for the competition before its being held. I think I am a talented problem solver, and I've had some experience with contest-level problems, but nothing near Putnam of course. If I have the slightest chance of doing well, what would be the things that I need now? I know 99% of it would be practice, but for the remaining 1%, what kind of books or something in the likes should I be looking for?

2. jcsd
  3. May 31, 2007 #2
    Last edited: May 31, 2007
  4. May 31, 2007 #3
    have you tried the higher maths olympiad questions posted on the internet?

5. May 31, 2007 #4

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2015 Award

our team practices old putnam problems, under the guidance of a professor.

6. May 31, 2007 #5

morphism

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The canonical book is Larson's Problem-Solving Through Problems. But really, the best way to practice is to go through old Putnam problems.

7. May 31, 2007 #6
    This is good advice, but the practice you get with your teammates will doubtless not be enough.

Anyway, the most important thing to remember for the putnam is that the markers are psychotic, so spend time on your write up.