The Rise of Incentivized Competitions for Humanity

• Thread starter jedishrfu
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Rise
  • Featured
In summary: You're not, but you "are?" Sounds akin to "damnation with faint praise." No, thank you very much.I don't think it's a conspiracy, I think these competitions are worth investigating. I am not an expert on them, I just found them and shared them. I think it's great that people are motivated by these competitions and are looking for cost effective and novel solutions. Jack...In summary, the recent rise of incentivized competitions for humanity has prompted me to create this thread, to tell PFers what's out there and to share my meager experience in "almost" entering one. The largest and arguably most influential one has been the XPRIZE organization which finds sponsors and puts out
The recent rise of incentivized competitions for humanity has prompted me to create this thread, to tell PFers what's out there and to share my meager experience in "almost" entering one.

The largest and arguably most influential one has been the XPRIZE organization which finds sponsors and puts out many competitions to solve some of our worst problems. Its a competitive game with many teams worldwide competing for the bragging rights to a first prize.

Often the cost of competing exceeds whatever prize money is offered but teams persist in the hope of getting greater rewards later through sponsorship and perhaps even establishing a new company or industry.

More on the history of XPRIZE is here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_Prize_Foundation

My Experience