Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What happens to infinitesimal time in path integral

1. Aug 4, 2014 #1
    Hi,

I am studying path integral formulation from Ballentine. Till equation 4.50, I follow quiet well.
    [tex]
    G(x,t;x_0,t_0) = \lim_{N \to \infty}\int\ldots\int\left(\frac{m}{2\pi i\hbar\Delta t}\right)^{\frac{N+1}{2}}\exp{\sum_{j=0}^{N}\left(\frac{im(x_{j+1}-x_j)^2}{2\hbar\Delta t}-V(x_j)\right)}dx_1\ldots dx_N
    [/tex]

I also follow that in continuum limit, summation converts to integral (argument of exponent). I am wondering what happens to the [itex]\Delta t[/itex] in the expression [itex]\left(\frac{m}{2\pi i\hbar\Delta t}\right)^{\frac{N+1}{2}}[/itex].

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2014 #2
    It goes into the definition of functional integral

4. Aug 4, 2014 #3
    I am sorry, I was not clear enough. In the continuum limit, [itex]N[/itex] tends to infinity and [itex]\Delta t[/itex] tends to zero. From the given expression, the limit amounts to infinity (there is no indeterminate form) so how come we get a finite number?

5. Aug 4, 2014 #4
    The situation is a little bit more complicated. When you define the functional integral taking the [itex]N\to \infty[/itex] limit (i.e. [itex]\Delta t\to 0[/itex]), you also define a "functional measure":
    $$
    \left(\sqrt{\frac{m}{2\pi i\hbar \Delta t}}\right)^N\int \prod_{i=0}^N dx_i \to \int \mathcal{D}x.
    $$
    The hope is that taking the product of an infinite number of integral divided by an infinitesimal quantity the final result is finite. Anyway, most of the times the actual convergenge of the path integral cannot be proved.

6. Aug 4, 2014 #5

Avodyne

Science Advisor