Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is the best version of Linux?

1. Dec 30, 2005 #1
    I have an old computer with a P3 955 MHz processor and 128 MB RAM. What would be the best version of Linux to put on this system? I have never used Linux before, but I have heard that it will probably allow the computer to run smoother since it is so old. The only real thing I am goin to do on the computer is write programs in Java.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2005 #2
    If an admin would like to move this thread to the general computer section that would be OK. This doen't really have anything to do with programming so I probably should have put it there.

4. Dec 30, 2005 #3
    i currently run the breezy badger version for Ubuntu and am quite happy with it.
    there is much support out there and the autodetecion of hardware has been the best so far for me
    i also tried suse and was quite annoyed with it, and freebsd
    i run GNOME as my gui now, i started with KDE and abandoned it quickly
    there are really small versions of linux called Puppylinux which you can run from a USB jumpdrive, so in essence you can just load it off your jumpdrive quite easily
    --shawn

5. Dec 30, 2005 #4

dduardo

Staff Emeritus

Any distro would work. Ubuntu is a good choice. Your only restriction would be the desktop manager you use. I would probably use a light desktop like fluxbox or perhaps XFCE.

6. Dec 30, 2005 #5
    Let's give some guidelines...

Now, I'm not old, 23 in fact, but that computer is *far* from ancient by my standards. Then again, I'm the freak running debian , w/o X mind you, on a 233 MHz Pentium MMX with 64MB of RAM.