Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is the Higher Derivative of a function?

1. Nov 15, 2015 #1
    I'm relatively new to calculus and I have a new chapter in my study which is on the Implicit Function, Implicit Differentiation and Higher Derivatives of a function, the problem is I don't understand the meaning of a 2nd or 3rd or whatever the higher derivative of a function is, what I know is that a derivative of a function is its average rate of change , so I want a simple explanation yet a comprehensive one on what's a higher derivative of a function .

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 15, 2015 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

You need to revise your understanding of what te first derivative is as well. It is not the average rate of change, it is the rate of change at a given point.

4. Nov 15, 2015 #3
    Thanks for your reply , I think I'm right, as I didn't define the derivative of a function at a specific point, let f(X)=X2 then the average rate of change of F(X) = 2X correct me if I'm wrong .

5. Nov 15, 2015 #4

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

You are wrong. 2x is the rate of change at x, not the average rate of change.

6. Nov 15, 2015 #5
    Then tell me what is the average rate of change in general and in case of the function that I previously mentioned besides answering my main question .

7. Nov 15, 2015 #6

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The average rate of change depends on which points you consider the average between. The rate of change at a point, ie, the derivative, is defined as the limit of this quantity when the interval goes to zero.

8. Nov 15, 2015 #7

Erland

Science Advisor