What kind of math classes are normal requirements?

In summary, physics majors typically only need to take a few math courses, such as the 3 level calc sequence, linear algebra, and DiffEQ. However, it is possible and even beneficial to take additional math courses, especially for those interested in theoretical physics. These extra math courses can also be useful in areas such as statistical physics, quantum field theory, and relativity. Some recommended additional courses include numerical analysis, complex analysis, differential geometry, and PDEs. A helpful resource for undergraduate physics majors is the book "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences" by Mary Boas.
Redd
I am a freshman Physics major and I always thought I would be required to learn a lot of higher level maths. But I picked up a major requirement sheet today and found out I only need to take the 3 level calc sequence, linear algebra, and DiffEQ. Thats it.

Now I understand I CAN take more, and frankly I am pretty positive I will,especially considering by the end of this year I will have met all of those requirements except DiffEQ.
But I am wondering, is this a normal range of mathematical requirement?

Is it because beyond those sequences the higher level math you need depends on your area of your specialization? So in grad school are you ever in Physics classes that end up teaching you a lot of math concurrently?

I'd hate to stop learning math past calculus...

Thanks for any responses.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I think the only additional course our program has is a vector calc/complex variables course.

I'm technically a physics major, but I've taken more math courses. I don't know if it will help me at the graduate level, but I've seen two standard responses to your question on these forums.