What objects can I use to improve my ball curving skills?

• Thread starter ste20man
  • Start date
In summary, the person is seeking advice on how to improve their skills in a game with a lightweight football. They want to learn how to curve the ball more than their brother and are considering using something other than their foot. They are asking for suggestions on what objects would be best to use and how to impart the most spin on the ball. They mention a £20 bet riding on this and are hoping for help in achieving their goal.
ste20man
Hi.

I have no experience with physics really and thought I might come here to steal some great ideas hopefully. My and my brother play a game with a fly-away(very very light) football when we are finished work. You've got to fill out the allotted time somehow right? Lol.

He is a much better player than me, always has been, and he has challenged me to 'curve' the ball more than he can. He left it as an open ended challenge so I got to thinking that I could do this with something other than my foot?

I watched him do it and sort of slices across it with as much power as he can. It's a regular sized ball, just very light.

What things should I be using here? Big things, small things? Pointy things / round things? A cricket bat or...I don't know, something else??

Which would connect best and impart the most spin on the ball?

Thanks for your input in advance, there's £20 riding on this so if you can help me out I'd be much obliged! Cheers, Ste.

:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Get a boot with a high-friction surface (like a high-grip rubber). You want to impart the most angular momentum to the ball that you can.