1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Job Skills What to do this summer for a future in engineering?

1. Mar 30, 2015 #1
    Currently I am a sophomore physics undergrad, and I want to do some type of engineering/applied physics work after college. I'm OK with going to grad school for engineering.

The reason I'm not just majoring in electrical or aerospace engineering in college is because I go to UChicago where we don't offer engineering.

Now for this summer I have basically two options:

1) Continue working in the research group at Fermilab I've been working in since spring of freshman year. This is very hands-on work with electrical, programming, and SolidWorks work.

2) Work an internship at a financial firm where I will be a programmer and analyst and then return to the research position for the following school year. This internship has significantly better pay.

Then next summer (the summer after my junior year) I plan to go into an engineering internship that will hopefully lead to a full time position.

Now I know my position isn't the best one to be in, it was caused by my laziness and not being on top of things when it came to looking for engineering roles, but these are my options.

If you were in my position, which would you take?

To be honest I'm not really even set on what I want to do after school. Engineering sounds like what I have enjoyed the most, so that's what I am leaning toward. However, I also want to explore other options such as finance, since I'm not sure how I feel about them.

I just want to know if you guys think that working a programming job at a finance firm is just completely shooting myself in the foot, and leaving myself with no chance of scoring an engineering internship/job in the following year?

2. jcsd