Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What to read after Understanding Analysis

  1. Oct 27, 2011 #1
    What to read after "Understanding Analysis"

    I have worked through Abbot's "Understanding Analysis" thoroughly and would like to learn more about the subject. My goal is to gain a good understanding of real and complex analysis and I also want to work my way up to differential geometry.

    I think I have had an average course-load of mathematics for a 3rd year student of physics. Most important to my question, linear algebra (Leon), calculus (Stewart) up till real analysis (Abbot) including vector calculus (Colley). Also the basics of complex analysis (Saff and Snider) and some tidbits here and there as needed for the physics.

    Since my goal is fairly broad, I'm not sure how to continue. I suppose I could start with a more rigorous book on real analysis, Rudin say, but I'm not sure how much overlap there is between that and Abbot. Would a book on topology be a reasonable way to go? Perhaps something else entirely? And in general, is there a reasonable progression of books to reach my goals?

    I would really like to be efficient about this, since I don't have a lot of free time to spend on material besides my formal education. But, on the other hand, I do want a thorough understanding of the subject.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 28, 2011 #2
    Re: What to read after "Understanding Analysis"

    Have you come across Korner's ' A Companion to analysis'? I find it a good second course, even after having studied Rudin's & Apostol's books.
    Separate textbooks on complex analysis & on differential geometry would help , as these have much special attributes. An overview of books will really help you decide what & how much to study.
     
  4. Oct 28, 2011 #3

    disregardthat

    User Avatar
    Science Advisor

    Re: What to read after "Understanding Analysis"

    I second Korner's book, I found it an excellent introduction to analysis, but you should definitely look into a course in topology before starting with differential geometry.
     
Know someone interested in this topic? Share this thread via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook




Similar Discussions: What to read after Understanding Analysis
Loading...