Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What would you consider to be the most quintessential equations of QM?

1. Sep 14, 2012 #1
    I am an UG student majoring in Physics. I am just starting classical coursework, but I have had, for the past 10 or so years, a great interest in Quantum Theory. I have read nearly every popular-level (read: very little, if any, math) book published in the last 15 years on the subject, but just over the last 2 years have I really started to study the prerequisite math to really get into it.

So, I am actually doing an art project that will have QM as it's theme; the background of which will be equations. So I guess what I am asking is what do you believe are the most important equations, expressions, etc in QM that really encapsulate the theory?

So, obviously, Heisenberg's Uncertainty inequality; Schrodinger's Equation (but which form of it). What else? I need 5 in total.

Thanks in advance for your opinion/help!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 15, 2012 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Schrodinger Equation:$$-i\hbar \frac{\partial}{\partial t}\Psi = H\Psi$$

However - it is quantum interference that really spells out the departure from classical mechanics ... see: http://arxiv.org/pdf/quant-ph/0703126] for the full quantum wave-mechanics formalism.

4. Sep 15, 2012 #3

kith

Science Advisor

If I had to choose five equations, I would use the Schrödinger equation, the probability for measuring a given eigenvalue, the HUP, the symmetry of a state of identical particles and the Dirac equation.

More buzzwords: Schrödinger's cat state, Bell's inequality

For elegance, I would use the abstract bra-ket formalism. If the art is directed at people with a little QM background I would maybe use the wave mechanics form of the equations to connect with their previous knowledge.

5. Sep 15, 2012 #4