Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where can I find resources to learn about distributions.

1. Apr 6, 2013 #1
    Hi
    I'm currently studying for my second year engineering exams, and I'm struggling with distributions.
    Unfortunately I missed most of the statistics lectures in my math course (something I massively regret now) and the lecture slides aren't annotated enough to give me any clue what is happening.
    Usually I can use khan academy to learn the maths I need, and then I just complete past exam papers to ensure I've learnt everything I need.
    The problem is I do not think Khan academy has uploaded videos on all the types of distributions.

In my class it seems to have been taught like this:

1)A lecture on Gaussian distribution
    2)A lecture on Binomial distribution
    3)A lecture on poisson distribution

Khan academy only has videos on binomial distributions. Another problem is I think these distributions are called different things in different places. I think Gaussian distributions are sometimes called normal distributions.

Anyway, I did not study A level statistics (My college decided to teach "decision maths" instead), so I am already behind most of my class. It would really help if someone could point me towards some resources where I can teach these subject to myself.

Also, if you could explain any basics that I need to know about these three distributions that would be great.

I think the things I need to know are
    .What a distribution is
    .Why there are 3 different kinds
    .When to use each one
    .The equation to calculate each one
    .How each one is derived
    .skew distributions
    .standard deviation

Obviously this is too much to be taught in a forum, but pointers would be greatly appreciated.
    I currently do not know anything about any of these things.

Thanks!

Last edited: Apr 6, 2013
  2. jcsd