Where to Begin with Self-Studying Astrophysics?

In summary, the person is a postgraduate student in pure maths who is interested in self-studying astrophysics. They are looking for reading materials and are wondering if they should study undergraduate physics before starting astrophysics. It is suggested that if they are just studying for fun, they don't need much physics, but if they plan to study or work in astrophysics in the future, they will need at least an undergraduate level education in physics. The book "Introduction to Modern Astrophysics" by Carroll and Ostlie is recommended as a good starting point for self-study.
cakesama
Hi

I'm currently a postgraduate student doing pure maths, and I'm quite interested in self-studying astrophysics!

If you do physics or know something that can be of help, could you please suggest me some reading materials?

oh and I haven't studied physics after getting out of high school, so I was guessed maybe I should study undergraduate level physics first, before going into astrphysics?

any help would be appreciated~

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
What do you plan to do with this self-study? If it's just for fun (and you won't be trying to solve any problems) then you don't really need much physics. A good advanced-undergrad level reference/text without many problems is Carrol & Ostlie's Introduction to Modern Astrophysics. But if you're hoping to study it in college in the future, or try to get a job in astrophysics, then yes, you're going to need at least an undergraduate-level physics education to get anywhere.

At the moment it's definitely for fun, not sure if I'll try to get into it properly after I get my masters degree in maths. Guess I'll have to study some undergrad physics as well in my spare time, thanks for the reply~

An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics by carroll Ostlie is a good place to start