Where to Obtain Fairy Shrimp for Allelopathy Project in California?

• Thread starter Malugabosh
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate planning a project involving testing allelopathic chemicals on fairy shrimp populations in vernal pools. They are looking for a native fairy shrimp species, specifically Linderiella occidentalis or Streptocephalus nealii, but are unsure of where to obtain them. They have asked if anyone knows where they can obtain cysts, as long as the population is located in or near California. They are also wondering if speaking to an advisor or faculty member at their university would be helpful in finding these samples.
Malugabosh
I am an undergraduate at a California University. I am planning a project involving the testing of allelopathic chemicals of european pennyroyal on fairy shrimp populations in disturbed vernal pools. To do this, I need a native fairy shrimp species. I have my eyes on Linderiella occidentalis or Streptocephalus nealii, but I do not know where to obtain them. The one place I have found did not give a species ID beyond genus. Would you guys happen to know where I might obtain cysts? Really, anything that has a population in or near California would be awesome.

Biology news on Phys.org
Have you to an advisor or faculty member at your university? I would think that the biology faculty with whom you are working would have experience in ordering samples.

Related to Where to Obtain Fairy Shrimp for Allelopathy Project in California?

1. Where can I find fairy shrimp?

Fairy shrimp can typically be found in temporary bodies of water such as vernal pools, seasonal ponds, and flooded fields. They are also found in some permanent lakes and ponds, but are more commonly found in temporary bodies of water.

2. Do fairy shrimp live in saltwater or freshwater?