1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which easier probabilty or differential equations?

1. Sep 18, 2013 #1
    I'm an engineering student, and in my next semester I want to take one of these 2 courses, differential equations or probability. I'm good in math but I'm taking some hard engineering courses and that's why I'm willing to choose the easiest of these 2 courses. Thank you for your advice.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2013 #2

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The obvious choice for engineering is DE. Choose the most appropriate course, not the easiest one.

4. Sep 18, 2013 #3
    Differential equations is an elective?

5. Sep 18, 2013 #4
    Well it's true that DE is more appropriate for my field of studies but I would really like to know which is easiest.
    And about this question:
    Both courses are required, they are not electives.

6. Sep 18, 2013 #5

verty

Homework Helper

For the first half semester, I suspect DE would be easier. For the second half, probability would be easier, IMHO.

7. Sep 18, 2013 #6

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

I'd say differential equations is easier overall.

8. Sep 18, 2013 #7
    It really depends on what level. The first term of DE is pretty standard, but probability classes vary more in difficulty.

9. Sep 18, 2013 #8
    I thought ODE is the hardest of all the math class including PDE. All the other students in the thought that too. We might had a hard class as it's a 4 units. But I compare to the EM class in terms of difficulty. We all agree ODE is so much harder that Cal II and III combined.

I never study probability in college, but we studied in HS, it's easy.

Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
  10. Sep 18, 2013 #9