Who are the right people to connect with?

• Other
  • Thread starter EngWiPy
  • Start date
In summary: The other example is that I had an in-depth conversation with a company about a job opening. As a result of our conversation, the company decided to move forward with an internal candidate for the job rather than go through a third-party recruiter. In summary, if you're not clear on what you want to ask or how to ask it, start by clarifying your goals for connecting with others. Are you looking for job advice, guidance on networking, or just someone to bounce ideas off of? Are you looking to connect with people in your area of expertise or just anyone who might have a connection
EngWiPy
Hello,

Who are the right people to connect with to improve my chances in landing a job? It was suggested to connect with recruiters, but aren't recruiters HR people? My background isn't directly related to the field I am interested in, and I am afraid that the HR has a strict guidelines to follow in filtering applicants, and won't see how I can fit.

Thanks in advance for any feedback

Physics news on Phys.org
S_David said:
Who are the right people to connect with to improve my chances in landing a job?

What kind of job? What's your background? What are your goals? As it is, your question is far, far. far too vague to be answered.

Vanadium 50 said:
What kind of job? What's your background? What are your goals? As it is, your question is far, far. far too vague to be answered.

My background is EE with specialization in tele/wireless communications, and interested in the field of Data Science.

S_David said:
Who are the right people to connect with to improve my chances in landing a job? It was suggested to connect with recruiters, but aren't recruiters HR people?