Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Who has more prestige, a physicist or an engineer?

1. Oct 16, 2016 #1
    To the common citizen, what profession is more estimated, physicist or engineering.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2016 #2

lewando

Gold Member

Depends on who that "common citizen" is. I am an engineer who happens to hold Richard P Feynman in high esteem.

4. Oct 16, 2016 #3

1oldman2

Gold Member

Good question, its difficult to split up a symbiotic relationship.

5. Oct 16, 2016 #4

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

+1.0

I'm an accomplished EE, but I hold physicists in high regard. In undergrad, physics was my first love, but I ended up choosing EE for my final degree.

6. Oct 16, 2016 #5

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I hope this doesn't turn into engineers are the oompa-loompas of science!

Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
  7. Oct 17, 2016 #6

billy_joule

Science Advisor

It also depends on the country. In some countries 'engineer' is a protected term, or at least has some status attached. The most common response when I say I'm a mechanical engineer is 'so you fix cars?' or maybe 'so you're a welder?'.
    I'd hold physicists in higher regard than an engineer, without any other information, as I've never met a dim person with a PhD (yet) but have met a few dim engineers.

8. Oct 17, 2016 #7

Ibix

Science Advisor

I'm not sure that a forum full of physicists and/or engineers is going to give an unbiased view of "common citizens'" opinions on this particular topic. All "oompa-loompa" friendly (?) rivalry aside, we most definitely don't represent typical people on this topic, and likely anyone who's opinions we know on the topic will be polarised by the fact that we're physicists/engineers.

9. Oct 17, 2016 #8

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Mathematicians