Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Who takes Linear Algebra?

1. Math Majors

8 vote(s)
    26.7%
  2. Physics Majors

7 vote(s)
    23.3%
  3. Engineering Majors

13 vote(s)
    43.3%
  4. Other Majors

2 vote(s)
    6.7%
  1. Dec 22, 2007 #1

cgw

I was wondering who takes linear algebra as an undergrad course. I assume math majors but maybe it is not required. I am studying it because I think it will help me understand quantum mechanics better. As soon as I got into it I realized that it is pretty usefull in general (engineering etc). I wish I had taken it in school.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 22, 2007 #2

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2015 Award

linear algebra is the most universally useful mathematics subject, in all fields. It is also the easiest, and most computable, which is main reason it is useful. another reason is that almost all problems can be approximated by linear problems, whose solutions then provide approximations to the actual solutions. this is the fundamental idea of differential calculus. for quantum mechanics one needs infinite dimensional linear algebra, so it is crucial to learn the abstract structure of the subject to understand the infinite dimensional generalizations.

4. Dec 22, 2007 #3

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

At my university, Linear Algebra is given in the first semester of the first year and required for all Mathematics and Physics students. I cannot imagine there are universities where this is different. I know of many other bachelors (Chemistry, Pharmacy, Computer Science and other exact studies) that have a required "mathematics for <...fill in profession>" course of which linear algebra is also a large part (together with calculus).

Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  5. Dec 22, 2007 #4

mda

how about all of the above?

6. Dec 23, 2007 #5

haushofer

Science Advisor