Linear Algebra in Physical Science and Engineering: Theory and Applications

In summary: I am curious, how does linear algebra relate to physics?? I am in my 3rd week of LA this semester, and I am really dying to see how this apple tart will taste when I finally understand it.Linear algebra is essential to understanding quantum mechanics, as one needs infinite dimensional linear algebra to properly comprehend the infinite dimensional generalizations.

Who takes Linear Algebra?

• Math Majors

Votes: 8 26.7%
  • Physics Majors

Votes: 7 23.3%
  • Engineering Majors

Votes: 13 43.3%
  • Other Majors

Votes: 2 6.7%

• Total voters
cgw
I was wondering who takes linear algebra as an undergrad course. I assume math majors but maybe it is not required. I am studying it because I think it will help me understand quantum mechanics better. As soon as I got into it I realized that it is pretty usefull in general (engineering etc). I wish I had taken it in school.

Physics news on Phys.org
linear algebra is the most universally useful mathematics subject, in all fields. It is also the easiest, and most computable, which is main reason it is useful. another reason is that almost all problems can be approximated by linear problems, whose solutions then provide approximations to the actual solutions. this is the fundamental idea of differential calculus. for quantum mechanics one needs infinite dimensional linear algebra, so it is crucial to learn the abstract structure of the subject to understand the infinite dimensional generalizations.

At my university, Linear Algebra is given in the first semester of the first year and required for all Mathematics and Physics students. I cannot imagine there are universities where this is different. I know of many other bachelors (Chemistry, Pharmacy, Computer Science and other exact studies) that have a required "mathematics for <...fill in profession>" course of which linear algebra is also a large part (together with calculus).