1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why do it if someone else does it better?

1. Sep 6, 2008 #1
    In the thread Are physicists/mathematicians dumb? Howers wrote:
    I'm in my third year of theoretical physics, and what motivates me is that I want to take part in the evolution of scientific knowledge of mankind. But what constantly troubles me is that it's the people Howers described who take the steps forward, not people like me. There's not that many positions open for theoretical phycisists, and certainly even less for those not so brilliant.

All the hard work we do when trying to understand and learn is downplayed, though not intentionally, by those who have the ability to understand at an instant, with some magical gift of intuition.
    "It took me a week to get this, to really understand what's going on."
    "Yeah, I know... I once had to stop playing World of Warcraft for five minutes while reading the book. Though I was vacuuming, cooking, and performing a cardiac bypass for my father at the same time."

Am I worth physics, am I justified to study it? What will I contribute to the scientific community or to the mankind when a one gifted person is worth more than 10 or 50 me? I'm just here wasting the time of those who are able, limiting their pace and making courses take longer than necessary.

These kind of thoughts are especially burdening for me, because I live in Finland and the university education is paid by society. So I'm taking a lot, but probably never giving anything meaningful back.
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 6, 2008 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member