Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why do physics majors have high IQs

1. Dec 13, 2015 #1
    Did they start out with a high iq or did it increase because they were working with a lot of math and physics problems.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 13, 2015 #2
    As a physics teacher, I doubt that your premiss is true :(

4. Dec 13, 2015 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Physics is hard and hard subjects attract smart people and weed-out less smart ones.

5. Dec 13, 2015 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Before we rush out and try and answer why something is true, shouldn't we find out if it is true? OP, do you have any evidence for this?

6. Dec 13, 2015 #5

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

And why would anybody care about IQ anyway?

7. Dec 13, 2015 #6
    So, what's your experience? You're saying you encounter a lot of physics majors who don't seem to have high I.Q.s?

8. Dec 13, 2015 #7

Mark44

Here is some data from GRE scores. It's not very fresh, with the scores obtained between 1983 and 1986, some time after I took the GRE, "GRE, Interpreting your GRE General and Subject Test Scores"

The material below is an excerpt from Table 3: General Test Average Scores for Seniors and Non-enrolled College Graduates, Classibied by Intended Graduate Major Field Group.

##\begin{bmatrix}\text{Major field group} & \text{No. of Examinees} &\text{Verbal} & \text{Quant ability} & \text{Analytical ability} \\
    \text{Language and other humanities} & 29508 &540 & 531 & 553\\
    \text{Education} &24042 &450 & 479 & 506 \\
    \text{Behavioral sciences} &58352 &509 & 525 & 542 \\
    \text{Bioscience} & 18838 & 507 & 581 & 569 \\
    \text{Health sciences} &32043 &469 & 504 & 521 \\
    \text{Engineering} & 33335 &478 & 674 & 580 \\
    \text{Math} & 20729& 490 & 657 & 596 \\