Why does computation suck so much?

• Thread starter Kindayr
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Computation
In summary, the conversation discusses the dislike for computation-based courses in math, but also acknowledges their importance and usefulness in sharpening skills and providing practical knowledge. The speakers mention the satisfaction and glory that comes from completing pure math courses, but also recognize the value in combining theory and computation. Overall, computation is seen as a necessary evil in the pursuit of mathematics, but can also be enjoyable and useful in its own way.
Kindayr
I'm in 3rd year math, and out of the 11 courses I'm taking this year, 2 are computationally based (Calc III and Calc IV).

I just finished my CalcIII midterm, I know i did fine, definitely a 90 or higher, but I just want to discuss how much I hate computation, and if anyone agrees with me.

I'm so used to pure mathematics courses where I get to actually think, and feel productive. Computation-based exams feel too overburdened with second guessing, messy objects and just plain unsatisfaction whenever I complete them. Like, even though I know I got 90+, I don't feel good about it because I didn't take anything away from it. I just showed I can plug and crank a few equations.

This differs completely to other course exams like say Topology or Group Theory, where even though I know I might only get 85, I feel like I completed something; there's a sense of satisfaction and glory.

I just wish my school offered a calculus for Math students that had different emphasis than what is in what is being offered currently.

(for those wondering, I had a double major last year and put off taking calculus until this year. now I'm a full-time pure math student, and unfortunately have it get it out of the way)

What are your thoughts?

Are computation-based courses a necessary evil for pure math students? Do you hate them as much as i do?

Mathematics news on Phys.org