Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why metals more dense than semiconductors?

1. May 20, 2006 #1
    this question was in my material science exam .
    by the way i'm not very good at this subject
  2. jcsd
  3. May 20, 2006 #2

Staff: Mentor

Not all metals have greater density than semiconductors, Si (2.330 g/cc) and Ge (5.323 g/cc). The group 1 and most 2 elements have lower density than Ge, several have lower density than Si.

See - http://www.webelements.com/webelements/properties/text/image-balls/density.html

Besides increasing atomic mass, the crystal structure determines the density, i.e. the lattice parameters or interatomic spacing.

Si: Space group: Fd-3m (Space group number: 227)
    Structure: diamond
    Cell parameters:
    a: 543.09 pm
    b: 543.09 pm
    c: 543.09 pm

Ge: Space group: Fm-3m (Space group number: 225)
    Structure: ccp (cubic close-packed)
    Cell parameters:
    a: 565.75 pm
    b: 565.75 pm
    c: 565.75 pm

Fe: Space group: Im-3m (Space group number: 229)
    Structure: bcc (body-centred cubic)
    Cell parameters:
    a: 286.65 pm
    b: 286.65 pm
    c: 286.65 pm

Ni:Space group: Fm3m (Space group number: 225)
    Structure: ccp (cubic close-packed)
    Cell parameters:
    a: 352.4 pm
    b: 352.4 pm
    c: 352.4 pm

Look at crystal structures -
    Click on particular element in table to see crystallographic information.
  4. May 23, 2006 #3
    A general quick and dirty formula

Consider the equation for the density:

[tex]\rho[/tex] = the density

n = the density of electrons in the conduction band

A = atomic mass, consider this to be a constant

[tex]N_A[/tex]= Avogadro´s number

Z = valence, consider this to be a constant.