Why Won't My Mousetrap Car Move?

In summary, a user on Physics Forum is seeking advice on building a mousetrap car for a science class. They have built a pulley system using a cassette tape, with two vinyl records as back wheels. However, the car is not moving when set down due to friction problems. Suggestions are made to use lower friction bearings and to add rubber for better traction on the wheels. It is also recommended to use CDs instead of vinyl records for the driven wheels to reduce energy consumption.
theOkilla
Hey guys! I'm new to Physics Forum and I have a question. I am building a mousetrap car for my 8th grade science class and have run into a problem. I have built a pretty sophisticated pulley system using a cassette tape. The lever arm and string turn the cassette tape which turns the drive axle. I am using two records as my back wheels, and I fear that they are too heavy. Whenever I arm the car and set it down, nothing happens. It does spin very quickly if I give it a little spin.

I will post some pictures of what it looks like.

DSC00246.jpg

DSC00245.jpg

DSC00244.jpg

DSC00243.jpg

DSC00242.jpg

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF. What are your bearing surfaces for the axles/wheels? Wood-on-wood? Or something that gives lower friction.

You need to find where the friction problems are, and figure out how to minimize friction at those bearing surfaces...

I have bearings like on skateboard wheels for that and my axles are wood. I can get the wheels to spin very quickly while holding it, but when I set it down it won't spin.

Should I try and grease up the bearings?

Thanks

theOkilla said:
I have bearings like on skateboard wheels for that and my axles are wood. I can get the wheels to spin very quickly while holding it, but when I set it down it won't spin.

Should I try and grease up the bearings?

Thanks