Worst instructional tool of all time

• Thread starter undrcvrbro
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary: I'm a student in AP Physics C right now, and my teacher is using this program called [PLAIN]"www.webassign.net"[/URL]. Absolutely horrible. All of my class and his normal physics classes hate it, but the man refuses to change to just plain old book work!In summary, the conversation discusses the use of the online program WebAssign for physics homework and exams. Some students find it pointless and prefer traditional book work, while others find it helpful as a supplement to lectures. However, there are concerns about the program's strict grading system and the potential for instructors to create impossible problems. Overall, opinions seem to vary on the effectiveness of WebAssign.
undrcvrbro
I'm a student in AP Physics C right now, and my teacher is using this program called "www.webassign.net"[/URL]. Absolutely horrible. All of my class and his normal physics classes hate it, but the man refuses to change to just plain old book work!

Anyone ever used this program or similar ones? What do you think of it? Positives and Negatives?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
My major issue with WebAssign is that you can't receive partial credit. The answer is either completely right or wrong.
You also have to be careful about rounding during intermediate steps of the problem. When I had physics courses that used webassign, you usually had to be accurate to three decimal places in the final solution or the problem would be marked incorrect.
It certainly makes homework grading easier for the instructor though.

At my school they also use webassign, its the only form of assesment they use, and also is the only form of homework they set, the majority of my year agrees that its pointless, as large portions of what is set for us is not relevant to our physics A-level.