1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Would it be possible for me to major in Astronomy advice please.

1. Dec 8, 2011 #1
    I'm a freshman in university, just finishing up my first semester (I've got 3 finals left and then I'm done). I just turned 18 last week, too. I'm in arts at the moment, but I've been thinking that I want to switch to sciences and aim for a degree in astronomy...the problems I face, however:
    - I'm not all that good at math. I got 91% in IB math 12 as a final grade, and so I've had experience with calc, but don't be fooled...I'm really not all that great, it does NOT come naturally to me. I can understand math, but doing it on my own brings anxiety and I just forget how to do it. Calculus is just the worse for me.
    - I have never taken a physics course. There's an intro to astronomy course at my uni, but the pre-req is physics 11. (I could always take phys 11 in the summer or something, but I'm just worried I'll fail at that since I'm not great at math.)
    -The highest science course I took was IB biology 12 with 89% as a final grade
    (IB is like AP, for those who are confused)

I've always been interested in the sciences, particularly this area, but my relationship with math has honestly kept me from going anywhere near the sciences. I just feel like if I tried, math would keep me from even passing. That's a crappy feeling.

My main question: Is it too late because I've no physics background?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 8, 2011 #2
    When you get out of college (university) you will have to get a job. How many jobs outside of academia (where you will most certainly have to have a SOLID understanding of math an numerical computing) do you think there are that hire astronomers?