Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Writer's Help:Music & String Theory

1. Dec 4, 2011 #1
    Hi, All:
    I am a fiction writer and am interested in writing a short story that ties actual music with physicists' string theory. I have (very) rudimentary knowledge based on layman readings and shows like Brian Greene's TV series. If I have it correct, at the very core of everything are tiny vibrating strings. The string vibrate in different ways to make up you, me, the chair on which I am sitting, the Universe.

I know that there is no actual connection b/t music and string theory, and music is just used as a metaphor in explanations, but I would like to explore a hypothetical relationship for science fiction purposes. Does anyone have ideas for how to make the connection sensical?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2011 #2
    Music is controlled vibrations.
    Controlled vibrations of, in our case, air.
    It could be vibrations of any media.

4. Dec 4, 2011 #3

I know zero about string theory but ordinary quantum mechanics has many close parallels to musical instruments. I can tell you more if you like.

5. Dec 4, 2011 #4
    Patrick:

Please do tell me more. Aside from a thimbleful of knowledge about waves & harmonics, I am in the dark. Thanks in advance for your response.

6. Dec 5, 2011 #5

DevilsAvocado

Gold Member

Welcome to PF!

You’re right, there is no direct connection between science and music, and I must add that string theory is still under development; I’m not sure it can make a coherent picture of the chair on which I am sitting on (yet). :wink: