1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

*2 trucks each going 50km/m hit head on with a force of still 50km/h ?

1. Jun 19, 2011 #1
    *2 trucks each going 50km/m hit head on with a force of still 50km/h ????

Hey all, I am a first year physics student, and want some more info on this one here. I heard it in a lecture.

Everyone thinks that if 2 trucks are each going 50km/h and hit head on, it would be the same as a single truck hitting a solid wall at 100 km/h.

To be honest, that is what I always thought lol, but I was told that was wrong.

Can someone explain the physics of this for me?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2011 #2

DaveC426913

Gold Member

Re: *2 trucks each going 50km/m hit head on with a force of still 50km/h ????

By whom?

Note that there's some error in the logic of your conclusion. Just because it may not be equivalent to 100km/h into a brick wall does not mean it is automatically equivalent to only 50km/h.

4. Jun 19, 2011 #3

Who was I told by? Someone in my physics class whom I was trying to explain something too.

So how come if a 50kg object was going 50km/h, which it then hit head on a exact same object, at the exact same speed, why would it not create a force = to this object hitting a solid wall at 100km/h ?

Sorry if I am really not explaining my self properly!

5. Jun 19, 2011 #4

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

By any engineer who is working on REAL impact modelling problems (not the collisions of point masses you study in Mechanics 101).

Trucks are flexible and plastically deformable. "Solid walls" (as an idealized concept) are not.

Agreed!

6. Jun 19, 2011 #5

DaveC426913

Gold Member

I do not actually know the answer. I can actually see both sides of the argument, so I do not know which one is correct.