1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

26 Year old father contemplating pursuing MED

1. Jul 14, 2014 #1
    Hello, I'm brand new to the site. I found it on Google while doing some curious research on the title of the thread. First off, as it states I am 26, I'm married with an 8 month old daughter. I started out in mechanical drafting at 19, worked to a junior status as a piping designer, dabbled in valve and equipment design/maintenance, and now I am a project manager for a smaller pipe company. My question is relatively simple and I'm hoping to get some feedback from experienced professionals. What are my chances holding a 40 hour+ a week job as a PM and pursuing a bachelors in ME? Is this doable? I'm not looking to be a full load student at this point, it's just not feasible. I believe I have the drive and my background will help me. I would like to move into a position to be involved on the technical side/decision making side that comes with mechanical engineering and move further from the cost/time part.

Thanks in advance for any replies or wisdom.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2014 #2
    Honestly, in general I think the chances are low. My first thoughts are; Your wife is not working so you dont have child care on your plate right? Have you found a program that offers required upper division classes at night? That is hard to come by. Or are you going to go to class during the day? How are you going to do an internship? Internships and senior projects are an important part of engineering curriculum and professional development. How and when are you going to network, collaborate and hang out with your peers at school? That is also an important part which facilitates job connections, learning the material and getting sufficient/good grades.