27 years old and want to major in physics

In summary, if you have excellent grades in a community college affiliated with a good 4 year school, you'll have a good chance of transferring to a top university. However, you'll have to take the SAT and have good marks on it to be considered, and you'll need to study for the GRE and PGRE.
Galileo20
Hello Physics Forums,

I've screwed up since I graduated high school 9 years ago. I really haven't done much during those 9 years. I'm now 27 years old and I want to go to college to major in physics. I intend to apply for a community college and then transfer to a university. Is it possible to transfer to a top university from if I do extremely well at my community college? How will the universities that I'll apply for as a transfer going to view that fact that I've really done nothing from 18 to 27? How will that affect my chances to transfer to a top university?

And suppose I managed to major in physics with a very good GPA, GRE, PGRE and research experience, would I get accepted to any first-tier graduate school given that I'll be 31 years old by the time I apply?

I really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If you get excellent grades in a community college affiliated with a good 4 year school then you'll have a good chance of moving forward.

You may have to take the SAT and have good marks on it to be considered as well so you should start reviewing for it and take some practice exams. You'll be competing with other students for limited junior undergrad openings and also some of your courses may not transfer over and so you'll have to take more to make up that weakness.

Checkout the website MathIsPower4U.com for high-school to community college level math that you'll need for Physics.

Having said that, you still need to understand why you didn't apply yourself when you were younger as that will surely come up and you may have to address it