3D Printing Technology/Additive Manufacturing

In summary, 3D printing is becoming more and more popular, with both NASA and ESA using the technology to create parts for various engineering applications. Entry level printers can be expensive, but if you are prepared to invest in a good one, the rewards can be great.
BenjineerM
Hello Everyone,

I am currently in my last year of studies, working towards a BSc in Mechanical Engineering. Anyway, I recently came across a very interesting article about the recent advancements in industrial 3D printing. The article discusses 'AMAZE', a project launched by the European Space Agency (ESA) to use 3D printing technology to produce parts for all sorts of engineering applications such as spacecraft 's, jet engines and automotive. The eventual goal is to be able to print a whole satellite! Also, NASA has already 3D printed a rocket injector; a part which is usually comprised of 100+ components when produced from traditional casting methods. However, with 3D printing technology the component can be produced using only two parts. I have left the link of the article for those you interested.

http://rt.com/news/3d-print-satellite-metal-esa-232/

It's obvious this technology is going to drastically impact manufacturing in the close future & although it has exponentially developed in the past few years, it is still not a fully matured technology. It is extremely exciting to be living in an era where new technologies are going to change manufacturing as we know it.

So, with my new found interest in 3D printing technology I have took it upon myself to start searching for a decent entry level 3D printer in which I can learn more about the technology but also improve my 3D modelling skills.

Can anyone offer me advice on what I should consider before buying a 3D printer?
I'm also intrigued to hear any reviews on standard entry level printers (£500 - £1200).

Cheers Guys!

Computer science news on Phys.org