A question about second cycle studies

In summary, the individual is a high school student interested in studying applied physics but their desired university does not offer a program in this field. They are considering a first cycle program in either astronomy or physics and are wondering if they can pursue a master's in applied physics with an astronomy degree. The conversation also touches on the idea of double majoring and the importance of considering one's goals and desires when choosing a university program. The individual is still researching their options and appreciates the advice given.
CounterTA
Hello fellow science enthusiasts!

I have a question about second cycle studies. I'm in my last year of high school and I wish to study applied physics. However, my choice of university doesn't offer a programme in applied physics.

For a first cycle I can pick Physics, Astronomy or Physics Ed. I won't study Physics ed for sure, and my dilemma is between astronomy and physics. Why? Because I've already spent time studying astronomy, and it'll be easier for me. However, can I pursue a master's in applied physics with an astronomy degree?

The programmes in astronomy and physics are almost identical, with the exception of the Astronomy degree having Observational and Theoretical Astrophysics in the place of Quantum Mechanics and Solid State Physics in the third year.

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
If the only difference is one class, why not take both classes and get a double major?

Likes CounterTA
CounterTA said:
I wish to study applied physics. However, my choice of university doesn't offer a programme in applied physics.