Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A wind-powered, Magnetic rail car(?)

1. Nov 30, 2011 #1
    I have an idea where a car can be lifted up using magnets and sent forward using wind, but I'm not a licensed Engineer. So I was hoping I could get some help from these fine colleagues of mine.

Say two magnets are positioned at a perpendicular angle away from each other and inside the angle would sit the car. The cement that lines our roads would have iron molded into the material so as to provide a magnetic field. Can Magnets emit a Diamagnetic field, so as to repel the iron, instead of attracting it?

The only problem I have is that unless I put another magnet behind the car, the car will have no logical way to move forward while suspended in mid air. and if the car cannot move, no wind is made, and ergo, so wind-power.

But what if I put a propeller on it to blow wind into a sail to send it forward. There could be a turbine underneath that collects passing wing wind, while it moves forward like a boat.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2011 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

Here is a pretty good introductory article to magnetic levitation for transportation:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maglev

There are several ways to make the car move. You could put a sail on it and use the ambient wind (is this what you are suggesting?), or you could carry batteries or fuel to run a propeller or turbine for propulsion, or you could use the electrical techniques discussed in the article to provide the propulsion.

4. Nov 30, 2011 #3
    I was thinking of using a propeler to blow wind into a sail using electricity to power the fan

5. Nov 30, 2011 #4

berkeman