1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

About taking ODE directly after taking 1 variable calculus

1. Apr 11, 2013 #1
    This is my first time posting in this forum, I am not very familiar with the rules.

I am a year 1 physics student, and I had only taken 1 variable calculus( I also know some basic linear algebra, e.g. how to calculate eigenvector in 2x2 situation, don't know Gram–Schmidt process for orthonormalising vectors) . The syllabus is the following

Limits, derivatives, linear approximation, curve sketching, L’Hospital’s rule, techniques of integration

Because physics need a lot of knowledge of ODE, I am planning to register ODE course from the maths department. The syllabus is the following:

methods of explicit solution, linear equations and systems, series solutions, Sturm-Liouville boundary value problems, dynamical systems and stability, applications to mechanics, electrical networks and population of species.

Can you guys give me some advice that, if I have the foundation to take this course. What further mathematics I have to learn before ODE?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 11, 2013 #2

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

As long as you are familiar with integration it should not be a problem.

4. Apr 11, 2013 #3

MarneMath

Education Advisor

Well, if the course plans to cover series solution, then it probably would benefit you to already know it thus know calculus II already. So if you're not comfortable with integration by parts, trig sub, partial fractions, along with series, then it might be to much for you to learn at once. However, if you understand all that, then you shouldn't have an issue.

5. Apr 11, 2013 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor