1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Abstract Algebra Concept-based Question

1. Jan 6, 2010 #1
    I have no abstract algebra background (only matrices and calculus and stats) but this problem came up in one of my classes and this time I'm completely clueless:

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A group is cyclic if an element, g, of the group generates the entire group in the sense that if h is any other element of the group, then h = gk = g * g * g * ... ¤ g for some k. Show that the symmetric group on a finite set, S, is not cyclic if the set has more than 2 elements.

2. Relevant equations

no equations, just definitions I think.

3. The attempt at a solution

I'm sorry, I really have no idea on this (never seen "groups" before) but I'll take a try on it. (not even sure how to show this properly):

if the group has 2 elements g and h, then they are related by g * h --> group S
    for some other element x, then gk is not possible since there are only 2 parameters, it cannot accept 3 parameters.
    so g * h * x --> not group S

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 6, 2010 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

That 'proof' really doesn't say much. You probably know that. Try taking this approach: i) show a cyclic group is abelian, and ii) show S(n) for n>2 is not abelian.

4. Jan 7, 2010 #3
    Sorry, I don't understand what you mean by an abelian group. Are there certain properties that an abelian group has that a regular group doesn't have?

5. Jan 7, 2010 #4

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

In an abelian group every two elements commute. I.e. f*g=g*f. It's true for cyclic groups (prove that). It's not true for Sn with n>2. So Sn can't be cyclic.

6. Jan 11, 2010 #5
    i) so if I have 2 elements a and b of a cyclic group: