Acetic Acid + Ammonium Hydroxide Vapours

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of "A+B Smoke" in movie special effects, which is a mixture of Acetic Acid and Ammonium Hydroxide. The resulting smoke is created when the vapours of these two chemicals mix in the air. The MSDS safety sheet lists the resulting mix as an irritant, but this may only apply to the solid remainder of Ammonium Acetate. The concern is more about the toxicity of the smoke itself. It is clarified that smoke is just a solid dispersed in air and in this case, it is made up of tiny ammonium acetate particles and water. The toxicity of ammonium acetate when inhaled is not explicitly stated, but it is recommended to follow the
Janson Raymond Kenny
Hi!
I work in the movie business doing Special Effects.
To create smoke for some effects we use "A+B Smoke." It is simply a mix of Acetic Acid (Part A) and Ammonium Hydroxide (Part B).
However, the smoke effects is created when the VAPOURS of these 2 chemicals mix in the air.

The MSDS Safety sheet lists the resulting mix as only an "irritant" to eyes, throat, and lungs HOWEVER, I believe these safety ratings are based on the solid remainder of Ammonium Acetate. (I hope that is correct) I am more concerned about the toxicity of the resulting SMOKE and not the solid remainder.

What is the resulting toxicity of these two chemicals reacting together?
What is the toxicity of the VAPOURS/Smoke created by mixing these chemicals?

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks!

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Janson Raymond Kenny said:
I am more concerned about the toxicity of the resulting SMOKE and not the solid remainder.
Smoke is just a solid dispersed in air. In this case, the smoke is made up of tiny ammonium acetate particles dispersed in the air. The only other product is water.

Thanks for your quick reply...
Any idea how toxic ammonium acetate is when inhaled?

Janson Raymond Kenny said:
Any idea how toxic ammonium acetate is when inhaled?