1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice for a chem major becoming more interested in physics

1. Sep 18, 2008 #1
    subjects like Solid state chemistry, QFT, QCD, general relativity, particle physics, etc look interesting to me and i really would like to master them at some point.

so far i have taken basic physics, calculus i-iii, introductory courses to ODE and PDE, pchem, and 2 introductory modern physics courses. the first modern physics course, which i signed up for on a whim, was really what introduced these subjects to me.

i am nearing the completion of a BS in chemistry (just a couple of labs and inorganic 2 to go, im a transfer student so my schedule isnt like everyone elses) and need to take a 4000 level math course if i want a minor in math.

what courses do i need to take to prepare for graduate level courses in these subjects? would i be able to study these as a graduate student if i pursued a PhD in physical chemistry? also, what is a 4000 level math course that i could learn with the very limited preparation ive had? i never took linear algebra but have been able to get by without it where it was listed as a prerequisite

Here is a listing of 4000 level math courses offered by my school:
    some courses will list as a prerequisite for example MATH 3334: Advanced Multivariable Calculus which in turn has as a prerequisite MATH 3333: Intermediate Analysis, neither of which have i taken.

is it foolish to expect to be able to take a 4000 course without more of a foundation in math?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2008 #2
    With a name like yours I don't think anyone will take you seriously here...