1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Advice of path to a PhD -starting from irrelevant BA

1. Nov 3, 2009 #1
    I have a bachelors degree in Media.

I want to pursue graduate studies in Mathematics (possibly statistics), but my BA has insufficient math credits for me to be accepted into any such program.

I am debating between earning a second BA in Mathematics and then sending applications to PhD programs or earning math credits as a non-degree seeker and then applying for a masters program so that I can then apply to PhD programs.

My constraints are time and money -as anyone else, I suppose. Except that I am already pretty mature, and if I take too long, it will be difficult to find work. Plus I am indebted for my B.A. as is. Also, right now, my only feasible options are online studies.

My overall goal and aspiration is first and foremost: I want to teach at the collegiate level.

I taught H.S. Math for 3 years, admittedly, under-qualified. Even so, I'd like to think I did a decent job. My style was to never teach a single formula but to ask my students the right questions that would lead them finding solution methods. I never had to teach beyond trigonometry, so I had mastery of what I was teaching.

In the process of refining my ability to ask the right questions, I realized that even though I had taken College Calculus and Matrix Algebra (immediately irrelevant to what I was teaching) I had to reteach myself the material I was responsible for -in a way different from the rote approach I was brought up in. It was in this training phase that I discovered that I enjoy mathematics.