Advice to the Physics Undergraduate

In summary: The hardest part of my exams was the initial revision when I started studying for them, but since then it has been a slow progression of revising every day.
K.QMUL
Hey everyone,

Just started my first year of study as a Physics undergraduate in the UK, and was wondering if any of you have any tips in getting the most out of my 4 years and how to get a first etc.

Advice would be much welcomed.

Physics news on Phys.org
Speaking as a 3rd year student in the USA, the first thing you need to do is be picky about who you surround yourself with. Your social group will either help or hinder. Hang around with people who care more about science than pop culture.

The second thing that has helped me is constructive use of free time. If you like to browse the internet, spend more time on sites like this and less time on Facebook. (I'm trying but not good at this one!) If you like to read to unwind, pick up some of the classics, Einstein, Feynman, Schrodinger, etc.

Also, don't be afraid to read textbooks from higher level classes. Don't worry if they don't make sense yet. Enjoy watching your abilities improve each semester. You'll find that after every one, you are able to comprehend texts that seemed nonsensical a few short months before. You'll also have a head start on some of the scariest classes!

Hope this helps!
Carl

Thanks, that's very helpful. Are you on tract to get the top grade? and How hard did you have to work for your end of year exams, or was it more of a slow progression of revising every day?

The USA doesn't have the same tier system, we have a gpa system. My gpa roughly places me at an upper second in your system. To answer the other part of your question, expect to become familiar with sleep deprivation. I don't want to sound discouraging, but expect to study in most of your spare time. Uni is a whole new world, and you are in a hard work/huge reward major.