1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Advice: University of Calgary Residence

1. Dec 10, 2011 #1
    Hi,

I need some advice! It isn't academic advice per se, but related nevertheless.

I'm a 4th year student moving to Calgary this winter to do a work co-op with the Physics department at U of C, and I need somewhere to live. The city of Calgary is new to me.

I applied for residence - because I thought that it would be convenient to live on campus and good for making friends - but now that I have gotten my housing offer I am having second thoughts. I got an offer for a 2-bedroom apartment in "Olympus Hall" with a roommate. I added my soon to-be-roommate on facebook and see that she is a few years younger than I am, and all her pictures involve tequila bottles and cleavage. This makes me worry.

So I want to ask the question: Does anybody know how "crazy" apartment style residence at U of C is? I stayed in first-year-style (just bedroom - no apartment) residence at UVic back in the day and it was a total zoo. Like, the hallways would be covered with puke and broken bottles and pizza slices stuck to the walls on Saturday mornings.

I'm not interested in living in res if it's going to be a TOTAL gong show. Spoiled kids who have no respect for shared space and spend more time drinking than studying are not the type of new friends I am hoping to make.

Is anybody familiar with U of C? Should I avoid residence, even though it would be very convenient?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 10, 2011 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Although I'm not particularly familiar with the U of C's residences, they won't be too different from those at other Canadian universities.