1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advises before a first experience of research in theoretical physics

1. Mar 30, 2012 #1
    Hi,

I'll be starting next week a 6 months internship, and I'll be working on quantum cosmology, roughly. I have been studying physics for 5 years now, and mostly interested in theoretical things for 4 years (from my first lectures of electromagnetism to conformal field theory), but exclusively reading books and solving small problems, my (small) experiences of research have only been related to experimental physics, more specifically in high energy physics. So, as really want to take the most of this first experience, I am asking you for advises, even really general, about the attitude I should have (trying to be the more curious possible, to not give up on problems/calculations even if it means struggling for weeks on it), ask as much as I can my adviser or trying to be more autonomous... Anything really.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 30, 2012 #2
    I'm nearing the end of my first year as a graduate student, so I'll try to give you some pointers that really helped me. I apologize in advance if I ramble a bit; I'm just learning some of these things, myself.

1) Don't be afraid to ask questions about what you're learning. There's a temptation to try and be completely autonomous in order to impress everyone. The issue with that is you could end up spending a lot of time on something that someone else could explain to you (or point you to a good resource on) rather quickly.

2) The other side of that same coin is that you don't want to be too dependent on your professor. If you're always asking him/her questions and can't get anything on your own, what is the point of your being involved in the research?