I can't find a PhD in theoretical physics after 6 months of trying

In summary: You might want to consider contacting research groups that interest you to get a better idea of what they are looking for. Not everyone is open to new PhD candidates, so it is important to research the groups you are applying to in order to increase your chances.
guinador97
Hi,

I am 25 years old living in EU. I am posting my experience with the objective of getting advice or opinions.

I have a bachelor in physics with a thesis on the SM electroweak sector.

I have a master again in theoretical physics with a specialization on Hadron Physics ( QFT ).

Both of my thesis have the model building part and calculations. I know advanced mathematica , moderate python and basics of C++. I have also taken a commercial course on some basic quantum computing algorithms

My problem is that I have constantly been trying to find a PhD in hep-th or hep-ph. I have tried applying for hep-lat as well. In the last 6 months, I made around 10-15 applications. I got called back only in one interview (two months ago) for which I had the feeling that went well, but they went with someone else. I also applied for internships only to face rejection. Finally, I have applied for some LinkedIn jobs with no responses.

First, I would like to ask if I am too old to chase PhD positions and if this is the reason that I (almost) never get called on interviews or get any offers ?

or is there something obviously wrong with my profile for the hep field?

I am completely discouraged from theoretical physics and I am considering to find a simple job and apply for engineering masters in order to have a better chance on landing a job . The other option I am thinking about is to levitate toward a different field either in physics or generally in STEM. Thus I would like to ask where could someone with my skills be useful in 2023 ?

Physics news on Phys.org
guinador97 said:
In the last 6 months, I made around 10-15 applications.