Am I able to get Autodesk CAD for free?

I'm a high school student and I'm interested in getting Autodesk CAD and sort of playing around with it and teaching myself how to use it. I used it during a quarter long class in 8th grade, which was three years ago, and really enjoyed it. I'm also looking into engineering as a career. I know that educators and students can download CAD for free. If I'm using it on my personal computer and in my free time, does that count as using it as a student and allow me to download it for free, or do I need to pay for it in that case?

Answers and Replies

mathman
Science Advisor
You appear to be a student, try getting it and see what happens.

SteamKing
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
I'm a high school student and I'm interested in getting Autodesk CAD and sort of playing around with it and teaching myself how to use it. I used it during a quarter long class in 8th grade, which was three years ago, and really enjoyed it. I'm also looking into engineering as a career. I know that educators and students can download CAD for free. If I'm using it on my personal computer and in my free time, does that count as using it as a student and allow me to download it for free, or do I need to pay for it in that case?
The eligibility requirements for free software from Autodesk are listed here:

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/cust...account-access/education-program/who-can-join

You should check that your school meets these requirements as do you personally.

Likes berkeman
ProfuselyQuarky
Gold Member
Wow, I never associated Autodesk with CAD before....oh my ignorance :smile:

SteamKing
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Wow, I never associated Autodesk with CAD before....oh my ignorance :smile:
Man, that's like saying you just found out Bill Gates dabbled with computers when he was younger. :wink:

SteamKing
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
He did? (kidding! :angel:)