1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Any benefit to a Mech Eng. learning CNC machining?

Tags:
  1. Jan 2, 2014 #1
    I graduated 18 months ago with my BSME degree and currently work full time as a Mech. Engineer. I enrolled in night school at a local community college to take a CNC machining certificate course this spring. The course is 2 semesters long and focuses on opereation of CNC equiptment mostly lathes and mills, programming CNC equipment using G code and learning MasterCam. The main reason I chose to do this is because I am interested in learning the subject. However it costs $2600 per semester. Which is not a lot of money but not really cheap either. I finshed paying off my loans from my bachelors degree so I am not in any debt and I can pay cash for both semesters without having to take out a loan. Is this somthing that could look good on a resume or help me become better at my job or is the satisfaction of learning somthing I am interested in the only benefit I will get from this class.

In my current job I would say 2/3 of my day is spent designing parts that will be machined on CNC equipment. So I was thinking at the very least it should help me design parts that are easier and more effcient to manufacture if I have a better understanding of how it is done. What do you guys think. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 2, 2014 #2

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

It can't hurt, I'm assuming most of the actual CNC stuff is done by a machinist at your current job? At the very least it will provide greater insight into any potential problems you might come across in your designs.

I don't know how employers will see the cert, but again, it can't hurt.

4. Jan 2, 2014 #3