1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Anyone in Australia - Advice on prospective universities?

1. Sep 9, 2008 #1
    First of all, yeah, newbie here, "Yo wassup dawgz!" and all that.
    Not really much of a forum user, more of a lurker, so sorry in advance for any ignorance I may portray forum-wise.

Anyway, I know this is a pretty specific question, but I figured I might as well post and see what I get.

I've been thinking of doing a combined Comp. Sci./Science course (which is only offered at UNSW, at least from what I've looked at) when I leave school, though from what I gather at most other universities science is a pretty flexible course, so choosing a course isn't really the problem.

I'm guessing most of the info I've been getting from going to open days at various unis (save for a good look around the campus) is mainly just self-promotion, so I'm interested in getting the opinions of people who've done/are doing a Physics course at a university in Australia (preferably NSW, but I'm open to others too).

I've looked at sites like rateyouruni.com.au /etc. but they don't seem to provide many detailed ratings specific to the courses I'm thinking of doing.

So, anyone who's done/doing any physics/computer science course at any uni in Australia, care to tell me what it was like at your specific uni? Teaching-wise, the content of the course itself, etc.?
    Any help is much appreciated! =)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2008 #2
    Here you go, pick one lol. :rofl: :approve:

Australian National University
    University of Melbourne
    University of Sydney
    University of Queensland
    University of New South Wales
    Monash University
    University of Western Australia
    University of Adelaide
    Macquarie University