Applied Mathematics, or Physics undergrad?

In summary, the speaker is a first year engineering student who is considering pursuing a degree in math or science. They are drawn to mathematics that applies to the real world and are interested in understanding concepts like quantum physics and fractal mathematics. They are considering double majoring in applied mathematics and physics or majoring in one and minoring in the other. They are not concerned about income after college, as long as they are happy with their career choice. They are seeking advice and experiences from others in the field.
twhitney
Hey guys, I'm kinda new here, and I have a bit of a perplexing personal question. I'm a first year engineering student right now, nothing too crazy, just the jr. college level. But the more projects we do, and the more the class progresses, the more I find myself leaning more toward theory and mathematics than the actual design projects and hands on stuff (don't get me wrong, it's fun, but I don't really see myself doing it as a career or a degree). I'm pretty sure I wan't to pursue a degree that's heavy in math or science, and I love math that applies to the real world and our interpretation of the things around us. I want to figure out how and why things work, and find out more about things that I can't understand completely yet, like quantum physics, fractal mathematics, and chaos. I'm leaning toward applied mathematics, or physics. I've done a bit of research and can't find a sufficient comparison on any threads. Is it feasible to double major in both without killing myself academically, or major in one and minor in the other? Income after college isn't much of a concern, as long as I can live somewhat comfortably, I just want to do something that makes me happy. If anyone can share experiences in the field, or any knowledge at all, it would be much appreciated. :thumbs:

Physics news on Phys.org