1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Are Lecture Notes Useful for studying?

1. Dec 4, 2011 #1
    One day I borrowed a book published by Springer (For learning Mechanics). I find it very difficult to follow. Later, I discover that it is in fact Lecture Notes. I am only a yr 1 physics student, but I want to explore as many area in physic as I can.
    My question is, are Lecture Notes such as Springer suitable for me?

https://www.amazon.com/Topology-Geometry-Gauge-fields-Foundations/dp/1441972536/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1322839400&sr=1-1&tag=vglnk-c905-20

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2011 #2
    This textbook that you're referring to is an upper-year or even graduate level text on mechanics.

I haven't read this text myself but from that description alone it tells me this is definitely not a 1st year text.

This is DEFINITELY not suited to your current level.

Get Halliday & Resnick or even Sears & Zemansky to start with.

4. Dec 4, 2011 #3
    I don't think you are going to be able to read that book at your level unfortunately. I think many "lecture notes" will be readable but those assume too much background.

5. Dec 4, 2011 #4

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Who reccomended this book to you ? The Lecture Notes series from Springer is not for class study, the books are tipically ment for graduate and PhD study.

6. Dec 4, 2011 #5

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

There is, however, The Feynman Lectures on Physics, that is quite applicable.

7. Dec 4, 2011 #6