Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Argument for discreteness of spacetime

1. Apr 3, 2010 #1

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The following is a paraphrase of an argument for the discreteness of spacetime, made by Smolin in his popular-level book Three Roads to Quantum Gravity. The Bekenstein bound says there's a limit on how much information can be stored within a given region of space. If spacetime could be described by continuous classical fields with infinitely many degrees of freedom, then there would be no such limit. Therefore spacetime is discrete.

I gather that this argument is far from being universally accepted. Where are the holes in the argument?

I would appreciate nontechnical answers. My background is that I did my PhD in low-energy nuclear physics, and I have a pretty good understanding of general relativity, but I don't have any technical expertise in quantum gravity. My only knowledge of quantum gravity comes from popular-level books like Smolin's and Susskind's.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 3, 2010 #2

atyy

Science Advisor

I think this is the argument that gravity cannot be a "normal" quantum field theory, and that some sort of "holography" should hold, not that spacetime is discrete. eg. sec 2 & 3 of http://arxiv.org/abs/gr-qc/9508064 , which includes a short critique at the end, noting that the hoop conjecture is used - I think till this day there isn't a formal statement of the hoop conjecture.

4. Apr 3, 2010 #3

tom.stoer

Science Advisor

Let's start from a totally different problem: In continuous spacetime (up to arbitrary small length scales) quantum fluctuations of fields could form virtual black holes; these processes would spoil any quantum field theory.