1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

As a college sophmore, what should my approach be for writing a research paper?

1. Jul 22, 2011 #1
    I want to write a research paper on general relativity or mathematical physics.

I am a college freshman (will become sophomore after this summer) belonging to an engineering major. In this summer break, I have managed to learn about tensors. Currently, I am following the Respected Professor Leonard Susskind's lectures on General Relativity via youtube.

Before the end of my holidays, I plan to write a simple research paper on mathematical physics or general relativity. Regarding my goals, i want to ask a few simple questions:

1. How should i approach? Are there any initial tips you would like to recommend?
    2. How should I choose a topic for my paper, especially when i want it to be simple, but have a choice of complex subjects to write on?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 22, 2011 #2
    I suggest you wait until you graduate, and pick a supervisor/school that is very active in research in your specific area.

I'll give what I understand as a basic guide to publishing,
    1. study subject formally and graduate
    2. familiarise yourself with all relevant literature
    3. identify a gap in this literature and research it
    4. write up your findings and submit it to a journal

It's pretty hard to do any of these steps without having done the step before. I suggest you keep working hard and talk to your tutor/course supervisor about when and where to begin looking for postgraduate options.

4. Jul 22, 2011 #3